Overview of Committees

RMACAC’s mission is served through the work of  many committees, each of which has a chair and a group of volunteers from around our five state region.  Below is a list of each committee and the chairperson.  If you would like to get involved with RMACAC, join a committee!

  • See which committee best aligns with your skill set and interest.
  • Make sure your RMACAC Membership is current.
  • Contact the committee chair!

The Admission Practices Committee investigates, with the assistance of the NACAC A.P. committee, allegations of violations of the NACAC Statement of Principles of Good Practice which are brought to its attention by means of written notification; seeks to resolve these allegations by communication with the organization, individual, or institution who is alleged to be in violation and seeks to agree on alternate practices which will be in compliance with the statement; refers cases where resolutions of violations has not occurred in a reasonable amount of time; maintains confidentiality.

Admissions Practices Co-Chairs:
Matt Lopez (m.lopez@sa.utah.edu), Director of Admission, University of Utah
Charles Scott (scott@nmmi.edu), Academic Counselor I, New Mexico Military Institute

The Advancement Committee shall be responsible for initiating, and overseeing RMACAC fundraising activities. Its main duties are to set policies, priorities, and goals for fund-raising programs for the current fiscal year and review the ongoing performance of each campaign.

Advancement Committee Chair:  Damien Bracey (damien.bracey@dysart.org), School Counselor, Valley Vista High School.

The College Fair Committee liaisons with National College Fair Coordinator for events in the region; communicates with the “site coordinator” for each of the RMACAC College Fairs; informs the Executive Board of the status of each of the RMACAC college fairs; coordinates with the RMACAC Treasurer to provide the Executive Board with a financial report for each of the fairs within a reasonable time after each fair’s completion.

College Fair Chair:  Constance Lumumba-Perez (constance.lumumba-perez@bosqueschool.org), Director of College Counseling, Bosque School

The Communications Committee shall take responsibility for marketing and communication of RMACAC activities and issues through various media including the production and distribution of RMACAC newsletter and other publications; produce content for RMACAC blogs and social media accounts, oversee RMACAC distribution lists; sit on RMACAC Conference Committee, serve as RMACAC’s communications representative to NACAC.

Communications Chair:  Emily Lesauski (lesauski@email.arizona.edu), Associate Director, Enrollment Services and Communication, University of Arizona

Kayla Harvey – University of Arizona

Mario Morgan – Maryville University

Susan Moore – New Mexico Military Institute

Christina Hunter – University of Denver

The Conference Planning Committee is responsible for the coordination of the annual spring RMACAC conference. This includes professional development sessions, social gatherings, college tours and pre-conference workshops.

Conference Planning Chair (President-Elect):  Ryan Burton-Romero (rbr13@arizona.edu), Director of Enrollment Management, College of Fine Arts, University of Arizona

The Finance Committee is chaired by the President and includes the Treasurer, the President-Elect, the Past President, and the College Fair Committee Chair. The committee monitors the finances of the organization in accordance with RMACAC Financial Policy.

The Governance and Nominating Committee is chaired by the Past President and also includes the President and the President-Elect.  The Governance and Nominating committee recommends amendments to the Articles of Incorporation & Bylaws to the Executive Board who then presents them to Voting Members. This committee also reviews upcoming openings on the Executive Board and nominates a slate for each position subject to election by Voting Members.

The Government Relations Committee communicates information regarding school and college admission counseling to federal and state legislative bodies and acts as a liaison to legislative committees or officers of other like-minded organizations. The committee develops a state/regional advocacy network to educate members and all publics on postsecondary education issues and priorities.

Government Relations Chair:  Rana Tarkenton (rtarkenton@denverscholarship.org), Director of Student Services, Denver Scholarship Foundation

The IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access) Committee develops programs that will assist in the expansion of access of Post-secondary educational opportunities for those who have traditionally been underrepresented.

IDEA Chair:  Darah Tabrum (tabrd@centralschools.org), College and Career Readiness Coordinator, Kirland Central High School

The Membership Committee is responsible for membership recruitment and reporting for RMACAC; coordinates membership promotional activities and materials for RMACAC; serve as RMACAC’s Membership representative to NACAC.

Membership Chair:  Jennifer Motzer Rause (jen@rausecollegeconsulting.com), Educational Consultant, Rouse College Consulting

The Professional Development Committee is responsible for planning, coordinating and implementing programs for secondary and postsecondary high school and college counselors. It is our goal to have informative and relevant programs that provide member professionals with opportunities that promote learning and networking.

Professional Development Chair:  Diane Campbell (dcampbel@psdschools.org), College Counselor, Fossil Ridge High School

Marisa Ferrara – Vail Mountain School

Morgan McClincy – University of Arizona

Jay McCann – Valor Christian

English Español